Don’t React, Respond.

CTFSD

CTFSD

Hello Beautiful People

Know i’ve been off here for a while now and I’ll love to apologize.. I’m really sorry but I’m back now to share more of my thoughts and what not with you..

I’ll be posting the concluding parts of my “Amaka” story for those that I’ve been expecting.

But for now, let me share this short beautiful piece I stumbled upon on Facebook, written by a guy named “Doro Godsent”.

He didn’t give it a title but I did and yes, he agreed to me sharing this, I hope it inspires you to change..

Enjoy.

At a restaurant, a cockroach suddenly flew from
somewhere and sat on a lady. She started
screaming out of fear. With a panic-stricken face
and trembling voice, she started jumping, with both
her hands desperately trying to get rid of the
cockroach. Her reaction was contagious, as
everyone in her group also got panicky. The lady
finally managed to push the cockroach away but it
landed on another lady in the group.

Now, it was the turn of the other lady in the group to
continue the drama. A waiter rushed forward to their
rescue. In the relay of throwing, the cockroach next
fell upon the waiter.

The waiter stood firm, composed himself and
observed the behavior of the cockroach on his
shirt. When he was confident enough, he grabbed it
with his hand and threw it out of the restaurant.

Sipping my coffee and watching the amusement, the
antenna of my mind picked up a few thoughts and
started wondering, was the cockroach responsible
for their histrionic behavior?

If so, then why was the waiter not disturbed?

He handled it near to perfection, without any chaos. It
was not the cockroach, but the inability of the ladies
to handle the disturbance caused by the cockroach
that disturbed the ladies.

I realized that, it is not the shouting of my father, my mother,
my boss or my wife that disturbs me, but it’s my
inability to handle the disturbances caused by their
shouting.
It’s not the traffic jams
on the road that disturbs me, but my inability to
handle the disturbance caused by the traffic jam.

More than the problem, it’s my
REACTION to the problem that creates chaos in my
life.

Moral Lessons from the story:

Understand that you should not react in life. You should
always respond. The women reacted, whereas the
waiter responded.

Reactions are always instinctive whereas responses
are always well thought of just and right to save a
situation from going out of hands, to avoid cracks in
relationship, to avoid taking decisions in anger,
anxiety, stress or hurry.

Hope that short piece did inspire you as it did me.
Written by Doro Godsent.
Originally written by BlueIcy Mind

Cheers.

Leave a comment